Flounder rigs

HumanClaymore
Seasoned Fisher

Flounder rigs

Post by HumanClaymore »

As I profess most times here, I'm still learning my way around fishing. Last year, I caught a couple flounder and they've remained my favorite fish to catch and eat. Problem is, I suck at catching them. I've YouTube'd a few videos on how people catch them, but wanted to pick your collective brains. What sort of rig and bait works best for them? Any special techniques I should learn aside from dragging the bottom? How about landscape? As I understand it, they like to hang out by ledges and catch their meals as the tide pushes them by. Any other areas I should be targeting?

Thanks in advance, all.

HC
Do the truffle shuffle!

bdawk2020
Weekend Warrior

Re: Flounder rigs

Post by bdawk2020 »

I haven't fished for flounder in Florida, so you may want to disregard my advice. But up north we would concentrate on ledges and creek mouths. Even small ledges could hold fish. I always had luck with bucktails tipped with Gulp or a flounder rig with live minnows. Maybe down here you could use something along the lines of shrimp or finger mullet. Let me know if start catching, I haven't had flounder in forever.

HumanClaymore
Seasoned Fisher

Post by HumanClaymore »

Will do. Thanks, man. I'll have to pick up some bucktails. I'll give it a go this weekend and let you know if I have any luck :)
Do the truffle shuffle!

PhishingPhanatic
BLACK FIN TUNA

Post by PhishingPhanatic »

Mud minnows and finger mullet seem to be the most popular baits, at least on the east coast. Regular fish-finder rig, retrieve SLOWLY..often you won't even feel the bite, they will just sit there with the bait in their mouth.

HumanClaymore
Seasoned Fisher

Post by HumanClaymore »

Sweet. I recently found a great place on shore here to catch finger mullet. I know they're not any kind of fight, but man are they tasty!
I'll look up how to tie a fish finder rig. Haven't tried that one yet.