Fishing in Current - understanding the "stack"

Post your How to Storys-Articles here and please only How To's related to Boatless Fishing.
kahmad
Fisher

Fishing in Current - understanding the "stack"

Post by kahmad »

I am by no means an expert at anything, but I have caught my share of snook, tarpon, sharks, snapper etc around bridges with fast moving water. I feel like a lot of people don't understand the concept of the "stack" or don't know how useful it can be. I hope to help others learn the things it has taken me years to figure out for myself, because I sure as hell would have loved if someone had taught me when I first started.

We've all heard of fish "stacked up," but what exactly does this mean? It means there are multiple fish sitting in one place, waiting for food to come by. Fish stack up in areas with good water movement, because, obviously, this means more food will be passing by. Stacking up in fast current is the most efficient way for fish to eat - they expend virtually no energy chasing down their prey - it is literally swept into their mouths.