Hooking frozen shrimp

Post your How to Storys-Articles here and please only How To's related to Boatless Fishing.
Tightlinesny
Fisher

Hooking frozen shrimp

Post by Tightlinesny »

Hi, I’m new to FL and love shore (surf) fishing. Using shrimp is all new to me. As a former New Yorker I’m familiar with using squid, clams, crabs, worms, fish, chunks of fish, etc.
shrimp is all new to me. So far I’ve only found frozen and it’s hard to keep on the hook. I’ve tried threading it through like a worm, as well as just hooking through it at various points.
Is there any method anyone can recommend that may keep it a bit more secure. Is fresh shrimp better? Do bait shops sell it fresh? I guess I could try supermarkets if fresh is a better option.
Also do frozen sand fleas work as a good bait? I haven’t tried them yet.
If anyone can offer any tips it would be appreciated.
Thanks.

BoatlessFisherman
Fisherman - Owner - Administrator

Re: Hooking frozen shrimp

Post by BoatlessFisherman »

Hello and welcome
As for shrimp
if I am going to use frozen I go to Publix and get some fresh frozen large shrimp they have white shrimp that is reasonable by the Lb and if you don't use it all cook it and eat it.
Cut the Fresh Frozen large shrimp into nice bite size chunks the meat is much tougher then the bagged bait shrimp.
I think frozen bait shrimp suck all around so don't buy that crap from bait shops

Bait Shops do sell live shrimp and they are great to use, they also normally have Ballyhoo fresh this is great in the summer and fall when using cut fish for bait make sure it is fresh

Sand fleas are best used Fall and Spring because many species are feeding on them but can be used all year long.

The first thing to learn fishing south florida is how to get fresh bait this is vital to produce.

We are lucky because we can catch alot of different bait here so its just learning where they are and how to catch them.

Canals: mullet and crabs, pinfish