Is top shot necessary?

This is for Shark info, Tagging , How tos, baits of choice, etc.
Poseidon10/31
KING MACKEREL

Is top shot necessary?

Post by Poseidon10/31 »

I'm a FL sharkin noob and have a couple questions for the forum experts. 1st off I got a Penn international 30TW and a heavy boat rod I'd like to use for sharking this up coming black tip run. The reel will hold 900 yds of 150 lb braid with 30 lbs at max drag. Is this reel ok for medium sharks? I know I'll get spooled if I hook a 15' hammer, but I'll take the chance I guess. Do I really need top shot or can I just tie the braid to the leader I plan on using (12' of 500 lb mono with 3' wire to hook)? Just askin cause I know that 900 yards isn't much compared to some of the reels I see people using. I appreciate any feed back. Thanks

PhishingPhanatic
BLACK FIN TUNA

Re: Is top shot necessary?

Post by PhishingPhanatic »

You definitely want a topshot. That setup is more then capable of handling blacktips, but they are acrobatic sharks that jump, and will cut that braid in a second. I would put about 20-30 yards of 100 - 130 lb mono leader on there, or use a 10-15 ft wind-on leader of ~200 lb mono. Also if you are fishing from the beach you don't want your braid to touch the sandbar, the shells will cut it up quickly. I like using lighter tackle for blacktips, much more fun to fight them. I use a Saragosa 18k spinning reel on a 12 ft surf rod, spooled with 65 lb braid and then a 20 foot shock leader of 100 lb mono, with a 2-3 foot wire leader. You can cast this setup no problem, and get a nice fight out of them.

fixed80
BLACK FIN TUNA

Post by fixed80 »