Newbie flyfisher in Brickell. What are my options?

This area is to help those to Flyfish and get the answers to there questions.
cgranier
Fisher

Newbie flyfisher in Brickell. What are my options?

Post by cgranier »

[sorry for crosspost - posted this to Who are you board first... but now thinking it fits better in here]

Greetings fishlings. I'm new to the forums and loving all the fresh info I've found here (it seems all the other local fishing forums are stale).

I'm just getting into flyfishing and particularly interested in saltwater flyfishing. So far I've mostly used my time to practice my casts from the condo's dock... which, apart from honing my wind casting skills, has netted me a grand total of one tiny "Blue runner / hard tail" and getting mocked by every mullet in the bay

Not complaining, though... just being out on the dock casting is awesome enough.

Question is... what are my boat-less options around Brickell? I've heard the bridge to Brickell Key offers some good opportunities (is fishing allowed there?). What about Key Biscayne? What are some good options there?

Any freshwater options around here as well? Most of the canals seem to be hard to get at on foot (private homes, freeways, etc) but I know there must be some legal access somewhere.

Would appreciate any help... I promise to post back with results, photos and exaggerated fish weights.

Thanks,
Carlos.

kombiguy
Fisher

Re: Newbie flyfisher in Brickell. What are my options?

Post by kombiguy »

Hi Carlos! I'm down in Coconut Grave, also looking for some shore/flat fishing in the area. Let me know if you want company. I just learned a liitle about fly casting and am really new.
Chris

ikaika
Weekend Warrior

Post by ikaika »

I'm on Brickell as well. No fishing allowed where I'm renting :( and I see mullet going ballistic every day. :nilly:

I've been fishing the beaches and flats over in Virginia Key and Key Biscayne.

Crandon Park: fishing is verboten. I found out the hard way. :scold: